Jump to content
Ultimaker Community of 3D Printing Experts


Team Ultimaker & Admin
  • Content Count

  • Joined

  • Days Won


Posts posted by SandervG

  1. 4 minutes ago, Jman15x said:

    Thanks for the reply. I contacted my reseller and he said it was only for the early customers without any mention of the R1 vs R2. Our machine is the R1 (with the robot on the side) but it only shipped with one build plate. 


    Thank you for your response. I guess we're saying the same. Perhaps my framework of drawing the line between R1 and R2 left some room for R1 machines sold later, which would still qualify for a sale without a misconception of receiving an aluminum build plate. Which seems to be correct, since you mention in your first post you just stumbled upon this topic. 


    Please let me know if I am seeing this wrong and we can obviously look towards a resolution. Have a great day,

  2. That is not entirely correct I think. It mostly depends on if you buy an Ultimaker S5 R1 or R2, which was released early this year. The rational is that we wanted to compensate our users who bought an Ultimaker S5 with the promise of the aluminum bed. Obviously, as soon as it became painfully clear we weren't going to be able to realise that we removed it from all marketing assets. So everyone has an accurate understanding of what it is they are buying. When we Ultimaker S5 R2 was released, some time passed where it was stripped from all marketing assets so we felt the compensation was no longer necessary, because people weren't buying it anymore with the idea of getting an aluminum buildplate. The Ultimaker S5 R2 can be most easily recognised by the U on the side, instead of the Ulti-bot. 

    • Like 1
  3. It is quite unique that it fell down completely. I recommend you get in touch with your reseller. It looks like the slider blocks that usually hold the axles came loose and lost grip. This can happen when the inside of the chamber collects too much heat, or when they have a production/material error and they break. If the latter even happens, it is usually only one. So all 4 breaking is quite unique. Unless you enclosed the entire frame, in that case I recommend you to be careful and be cautious of the internal temperature. Anyway, a reseller should be able to provide you with new slider blocks and instructions on how to install them. 

  4. Just now, VerveDesign said:

    Hi @SandervG,


    Just forwarded the log files as requested.


    Fingers crossed, but @Jman15x has me even more worried!


    Thank you for sending those over! Let's not loose our sanity and look at each individually. Besides Jman15x there are also other users who have issues, but luckily there are plenty more users who have 0 issues and couldn't be happier. I rather focus on that, and help you join that side as soon as possible! 🙂

  5. Hi @Jman15x,


    Thank you for your message and putting the effort to collect all error messages and the links to the articles. I'm sorry to hear about the difficulties you are having with your Ultimaker S5 Pro Bundle. When updating to a new firmware version triggers more error messages, it is not necessarily that the firmware is faulty. Sometimes error detection becomes more refined, which detects 'errors' that previously went undetected. Not to say that it renders your product immediately as broken, but it should help to pinpoint which areas might be performing sub-optimal. 

    2 hours ago, Jman15x said:

    The issue with the infinite "finishing" phase has also occurred on my machine as well as when I've tried to abort a print.

    If this would ever happen again, I would like to ask if you can also share your log files with us so we can have a look. 


    2 hours ago, Jman15x said:

    More often than not the progress indicators seem to freeze indefinitely and then you have no idea what is actually going on.

    Do they freeze, or perhaps not display accurately what it is that is actually happening on the background? We have done some improvements in making information more transparant, and we can probably improve upon it some more. But it is important to realise that sometimes a process may take longer than you expect, but it is not frozen. 


    It is quite a list of error messages that you are receiving, and I would agree with you that that is not healthy. I hope and trust that when the support channel assisted you, that these parts should play a major role in resolving most of these error messages. 

    Obviously it is not normal for a 2 months old device, and while we do thorough quality control it is possible that a part included in your device didn't work as it should. Like the capacitive sensor board. Please let us know when you have received them if your errors have indeed gone away, or if you need further assistance. 


    2 hours ago, Jman15x said:

    but I would much rather not have to do the repairs at all and have a fully functioning 3D printer right out of the box.


    That makes absolute sense, and I would feel the same as you. Hopefully your issues will be resolved soon and you can continue you 3D printing journey knowing that if anything ever happens, you can count on Ultimaker and our support systems to help you out and get you up and running. 

    • Like 1
  6. Hi @AHG, thank you for your message. 

    Does it need to be printed vertically, or could they also be placed flat on the build plate? That would make things a lot easier! In its current shape, on the bottom of the disc you are dealing with an overhang and heat/cooling issues. The heat that is radiating from the build plate is keeping the filament from solidifying, and so are the layers that are printed on top of it with a hot nozzle before the previous layer has had a time to cool down. Have you tried printing a few discs at the same time with some decent space in between so the head travels around a little bit and they have time to cool? I would also try to print them with the bed at a lower temperature, or perhaps even turned off entirely (but then you probably need to use a line of blue tape to ensure the adhesion). But again, printing them flat would be much, much easier. 

  7. Hi @VerveDesign, thank you for your message. We would need to see your log files to determine what is causing this bug. Obviously this is not intended behaviour. I would like to ask if you can share your log files with our product experts via this link: https://support.ultimaker.com/hc/en-us/requests/new


    You can get the log files via Settings > Maintenance > Diagnostics > Save log files to USB. 


    I have informed our experts and they are waiting for your files. Thanks again and our apologies for the inconvenience of this rocky start! 

  8. We are happy to share Ultimaker 4.8 Beta with you. It marks a new step in the evolution of Ultimaker and perhaps the world’s most used slicer. You can help to make it even better for yourself and all its users by taking part in this Beta and report your findings back with us. 

    So, what new features can we share with you today?


    Arrange models has been improved.
    Until now, the arrange models feature didn’t always utilise the available bed space to its fullest, which made a lot of users arranging their models by themselves. An improved arrange models feature should provide you with your assistance from now on. Parts are automatically more tightly packed, using the full available space on your build plate. 




    And we shouldn’t neglect to mention that this feature was developed with the power of the open-source community. A big thank you to Prusa Research, who developed the open-source library used to creature the feature’s improvement. 


    The cool side of the build plate.
    Ultimaker Cura will now show your model, or part of your model in a different color when it reaches below your build plate. This should help in creating a more visual guide which part of a model will be cut off and therefore not printed. 


    Loading project files. 
    When you load a new project file, you can now select with which printer type you want to open this project. You can still choose to open it with the printer type it was originally sliced for, but you have the option to select a different printer type too. 


    Bug fixes included in Ultimaker Cura Beta 4.8:


    Measurement units correctly applied.

    Previously, when changing percentages, the wrong axis would be scaled, resulting in a broken model. This has been fixed. 
    Artifact removal in curves.

    Fixed an issue that left tiny artifacts in certain curves, causing the print head to slow down. This results in smoother print surfaces when printing such curves. 
    Curious to give Ultimaker Cura 4.8 Beta a try? You can download it here.
    Please share your findings with us below. Together we can make things better! 

    • Like 4
  9. Hi @gpitts


    thank you for writing a message here outlining your issues. Who is your service partner? Fbrc8 by chance? They are very knowledgable and offer excellent service. @fbrc8-erin even roams this forum occasionally. 


    Last time you mentioned you were waiting on a new cable and your service partner was working with you on the error messages. If you need any specific help on certain issues, please let us know, like if any error messages remain to occur after installing a new cable. 


    Thank you, keep us posted. Have a great day! 



  10. 47 minutes ago, Jonas98 said:

    just don't know how to say that...

    You get from us:

    Password protection (just at the web server) would be a nice solution to me.


    You say:
    Sorry password just on the webserver is no solution for you...


    I don't think that is a correct summary of what ctbeke was saying. We are looking into security features, but only a password for the web would be just half a solution for everyone who doesn't have their printer locked up in a room. And having only half security is like no security at all. So instead, we are investing this security issue from a wider perspective, so hopefully it will deliver a solution to every user who needs more security. 


    If you are suggesting our development team should develop every feature request we get from a user I don't you'll ever see a new product from us ever again and a very strange user interface (based on everyone's individual needs & preferences, but launched for everyone). Instead we hear your request for security, and our response is that we are looking into it but it is not as easy as you might think. Hope this helps to create some perspective! 

  11. yaay, points for the community! I think most accuracy settings can be dialed in by the slicer, but if there would be any difference the UMS3 might be a bit more accurate just because it is smaller, so it has less weight to move around. 

    But most gains can probably achieved via Cura (and the tips you can get from our expert users in the community!). How tight are the tolerances that you are looking for?


    I have also tried that last model you tried on an Ultimaker, not sure if it was the UM3 or UMS5, but for me it failed because the bottom layer blended. Elephant's foot. When you compensated for the elephant's foot by decreasing 'initial layer horizontal expansion' it worked.

  12. Hi @ninjaltum thank you for posting this question here. There is a way we can help your Ultimaker S3 to help remember who he truly is, carry the S3 model with pride, without shipping it to your reseller (not sure if that is what they will suggest). Please let me know if you still have it in your possession and I will share the instructions with you. It is not complicated, you can place a file on your USB, insert it in the S3 and it should do the trick. 



    • Like 1
  13. Hi @gpitts, thank you for your message. Sorry to hear it seems like you have run into some issues with your Ultimaker. A flooded head can be quite a hassle to recover from, depending from the size it might be better to replace parts than to recover. Sometimes if a part is slightly bent, you should be able to bent it back. By default this is not a good or bad practise, but it really depends on your situation. 

    If consecutively you started having communication errors this might be a sign that the flooded head caused some more harm than 'we' initially thought. I trust you will be able to work it out with your reseller. 


    Regarding the material station, multiple RFID tags can create some noise, but we always recommend to insert your spool on the far left side of each bay (where the reader is). This should work.


    If there is anything else we can help with or if you have any further questions please feel free to ask! (perhaps start another thread so we don't hijack @sensebellum 's thread.)


    • Like 1
  14. Hi @sensebellum, thank you for your message! Hopefully you will get a lot of input.


    Ah yes, the promise we regrettably couldn't fulfil on the Ultimaker 2. We still regret it to this day, and learned many lessons. Are you also looking for more print capacity or only to enable dual extrusion? Do you think you will use PVA mostly, or other support materials or build materials? Depending on your answers, the community at one point united and build this modification. It was very well received, but it does require modifications with the attached risks. So if reliability is high on your agenda (and the use of PVA), I might not recommend it. But I wanted to put it out there as an option.


    Regarding the Ultimaker S5, some questions I can not answer as a user, but as an Ultimaker team member I can try and answer some.


    10 hours ago, sensebellum said:

    1) How realistic is the uptime of this printer? Lets talk specifically PLA & PVA.

    The uptime is good. Just with any technology, there can always be a hick-up but often they can be solved quickly. PVA is a rather sensitive material, which needs to be treated as such. If you don't treat it well, it can give you difficulties. Particularly due to the moist it attracts from the air. The issue you mention from 2018 with the flow sensor has been addressed in an earlier firmware version. 


    10 hours ago, sensebellum said:

    2) How reliable is the remote access? Always up or it's kind of a hassle with spotty connections and you don't really use it 6 months in?

    We had some issues during the first months after being launched where connectivity sometimes dropped, but this has also been addressed a few firmware versions back. We do recommend to connect it to LAN, since that will always be more stable than wifi. 


    Next few questions are more aimed at users I think..


    10 hours ago, sensebellum said:

    8] How often do nozzles get clogged? What happens when a print core is clogged? Do you have to buy a new one? Can you fix the existing one?

    I like to think they rarely clog. If they do, we have cleaning filament to unclog them. Our print cores are really reliable and have a very high uptime. 


    Hope this helps! Perhaps you can also describe what you intent to use it for, so people can also give specific tips to keep an eye for, or give recommendations. 


    One thing I would like to add, as shown in the previous answer regarding flow sensor, connectivity and the responses you get in general, is that we actively support our products and you can expect to receive updates throughout owning one. This community is also a great place if you want to learn more about our products, 3D printing, or how to improve your 3D prints. I believe this adds a lot of value to your experience of owning an Ultimaker 3D printer. You are never left by yourself. 


    Thanks again, have a great day! 

  15. On 10/10/2020 at 1:06 AM, mike_doell said:

    I have powered it down and after powering back up the display is still blacked out and


    Perhaps it sounds as stubborn advice but could you try to reboot again? Perhaps power it down for a few seconds and try again? The black display occurrences we've encountered should be fixed with a reboot usually. Thanks.

  • Create New...